What are the 10 essential health benefits?

Under the Affordable Care Act, health insurance policies, purchased on or off the Health Insurance Marketplace, must offer a comprehensive package of items and services known as Essential Health Benefits.

At mininumum, health plans must include items and services from these 10 categories of care:

  1. Ambulatory patient services
  2. Emergency services
  3. Hospitalization
  4. Maternity and newborn care 
  5. Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment
  6. Prescription drugs
  7. Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
  8. Laboratory services
  9. Preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management
  10. Pediatric services, including oral and vision care